Friday, August 29, 2008



Jehan Mubarak helped Sri Lanka set India a target of 228 to win the final one-day international at the Premadasa Stadium on Friday. Zaheer Khan gave India a flying start, removing flamboyant opener Sanath Jayasuriya (one) in the second over, but Malinda Warnapura (30) and Mahela Udawatte (43) put Sri Lanka back on track with a 77-run stand for the second wicket.

Irfan Pathan, however, removed both batsmen in the space of four deliveries and Kumar Sangakkara (one) and captain Mahela Jayawardene (12) both fell cheaply as Sri Lanka slipped to 104 for five. Jayawardene finally won a toss in the series, but India's new-ball bowlers again turned in tight opening spells to put the Sri Lankans under pressure.

Warnapura, dropped on six by Rohit Sharma, and Udawatte were unconvincing but effective as they built the innings.

But Pathan, brought into the team for Praveen Kumar, struck twice in his second over to send back both batsmen. Warnapura skied a delivery to Gautam Gambhir at cover, while Udawatte was trapped plum in front three deliveries later. Sangakkara recorded another failure, attempting a lazy cut shot off RP Singh and nicking to Gambhir in the slips.

Ojha had troubled Chamara Kapugedera (26) at the start and thought he had the middle-order batsman when he dived forward to take a return catch.

Kapugedera was on six, but he survived that close call after third umpire Gamini Silva deemed the ball had touched the ground.

Ojha, however, struck in successive overs to send back Jayawardene and Kapugedera as the hosts' middle-order caved in yet again.